Rising Stars

Award Description

The BMES Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering Special Interest Group brings together researchers with diverse scientific and clinical interests with a common goal of understanding and engineering molecules, cells, their interactions, and microenvironments in the pursuit of controlling biological processes and improving the practice of medicine. 
To maintain its multidisciplinary character and central research focus, the CMBE SIG is committed to supporting new investigators within the field. Towards this goal, the “Rising Star” award has been given to a select group of exceptional junior principal investigators each year. Awardees provide a podium presentation in a special session at the annual conference. 

BMES CMBE Rising Star Award Recipients


Brendon Baker, University of Michigan

Sidi Bencherif, Northeastern University

Weiqiang Chen, New York University

Cesar de la Fuente, University of Pennsylvania

Neha Kamat, Northwestern University

Ester Kwon, University of California, San Diego

Zhen Ma, Syracuse University

Scott Medina, Pennsylvania State University

Jeffrey Millman, Washington University in St. Louis

Michael Murrell, Yale University

Keyue Shen, University of Southern California

Timothy Downing, University of California, Irvine

Madeleine Oudin, Tufts University

Matthew Fisher, North Carolina State University

Xiaojun Lian, The Pennsylvania State University

Eunji Chung, University of Southern California

Stephanie Seidlits, University of California, Los Angeles

Gregg Duncan, University of Maryland

Ovijit Chaudhuri, Stanford University

Jonathan Rivnay, Northwestern University

Michael Mitchell, University of Pennsylvania

Patrick Cahan, Johns Hopkins University

Kelly Stevens, University of Washington

Rebecca Pompano, University of Virginia

Liming Bian, PhD, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Sarah Calve, PhD, Purdue University
Daniel Conway, PhD, Virginia Commonwealth University
Yizhou Dong, PhD, The Ohio State University
Akhilesh Gaharwar, PhD, Texas A&M University
Padmini Rangamani, PhD, University of California, San Diego
John Slater, PhD, University of Delaware
Jeremiah J. Zartman, PhD, University of Notre Dame

Tzahi Cohen-Karni, PhD, Carnegie Mellon University
Kareen Coulombe, PhD, Brown University
Brandon DeKosky, PhD, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
Rong Fan, PhD, Yale University
Stephanie Fraley, PhD, University of California San Diego
Jianping Fu, PhD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Penney Gilbert, PhD, University of Toronto
Jason Gleghorn, PhD, University of Delaware
Ngan Huang, PhD, Stanford University
Jenny Jiang, PhD, University of Texas at Austin
Allen Liu, PhD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Megan McCain, PhD, USC
Evan Scott, PhD, Northwestern University
Chelsey Simmons, PhD, University of Florida
Qiaobing Xu, PhD, Tufts University

Umut Gurkan, PhD, Case Western Reserve University
Amit Pathak, PhD, Washington University, St. Louis
Shipla Sant, PhD, University of Pittsburgh
Jae-Won Shin, PhD, University of Illinois, Chicago
Feng Zhao, PhD, Michigan Technological University
Pinar Zorlutuna, PhD, University of Notre Dame

Lauren Black, PhD, Tufts University
Ben Cosgrove, PhD, Cornell University
Guohao Dai, PhD, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Brendan Harley, PhD, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Nic Leipzig, PhD, University of Akron
Siva Vanapalli, PhD, Texas Tech University

Pen-Hsiu Grace Chao, PhD, National Taiwan University
Brenton Hoffman, PhD, Duke University
Lucas Lu, PhD, University of Delaware
Corey Neu, PhD, Purdue University
Michelle Previtera, PhD, Setton Hall University
Ankhur Singh, PhD, Cornell University
Edward Sander, PhD, University of Iowa
Fan Yang, PhD, Stanford University

Randolph Ashton, PhD, University of Wisconsin
Nadeen Chahine, PhD, Feinstein Institute for Medical Research in New York
Adam Feinberg, PhD, Case Western Reserve University
Doek-Ho Kim, PhD, University of Washington
Wendy Liu, PhD, University of California, Irvine
Krishanu Saha, PhD, University of Wisconsin
Leo Wan, PhD, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Eric Darling, PhD, Brown University
Nathan Gallant, PhD, University of Southern Florida
Charles Gersbach, PhD, Duke University
Jiro Nagatomi, PhD, Clemson University
Shelly Peyton, PhD, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Cindy Reinhart-King, PhD, Cornell University
Sihong Wang, PhD, City College of New York

Peter Butler, PhD, Pennsylvania State University
Roland Kaunas, PhD, Texas A&M University
Sanjay Kumar, PhD, University of California, Berkeley
Rob Mauck, PhD, University of Pennsylvania
Alisa Morss Clyne, PhD, Drexel University