BMES recognizes individuals for their accomplishments, significant contributions, and service to the Society and the field of biomedical engineering. BMES accepts nominations and applications for the following annual awards:

Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award - This award is BMES's premier recognition. Each year, the Society bestows this prestigious award to individuals who have demonstrated impactful leadership and accomplishments in biomedical engineering science and practice.

BMES Mid-Career Award - The BMES Mid-Career Award recognizes a member in good standing who has demonstrated significant leadership and achievements in biomedical engineering. These achievements may be in scholarship, education, mentorship, leadership, or the practice of biomedical engineering.  

Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award - Each year, BMES offers the Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award to stimulate research careers in biomedical engineering. 

Diversity Lecture Award - The BMES Diversity Award honors an individual, project, organization, or institution for impactful contributions towards improving gender and racial diversity in biomedical engineering. The award seeks to recognize lifetime achievements and high-impact activities (i.e., research, academia, and service) that are innovative and improve equity among biomedical engineering academia and industry.

Career Development Awards - are available to graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, early-career faculty, and early career professionals from underrepresented populations in biomedical engineering or involved in research and training focused on health disparities and minority health in biomedical engineering.

Christopher Jacobs Award for Excellence in Leadership - honors leadership excellence in the field of Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering (CMBE) and is named in memory and honor of Christopher R. Jacobs, Ph.D.

Shu Chien Achievement Award - is bestowed upon an individual who has demonstrated meritorious contributions to the field of cellular and molecular bioengineering.

Athanasiou Student and Post-Doc Awards - recognizes the authors of the top graduate and post-doctoral papers published in ABME as the future leaders in biomedical engineering and honors the contributions of Dr. Kyriacos Athanasiou to the field.

Learn more about Student Awards / Student Chapter Awards.

Want to nominate a colleague for the BMES Grade of Fellow? Learn more at