Awards

BMES recognizes individuals for their accomplishments, significant contributions, and service to the Society and the field of biomedical engineering. BMES accepts nominations and applications for the following annual awards:

Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award - This award is BMES's premier recognition. Each year, the Society bestows this prestigious award to individuals who have demonstrated impactful leadership and accomplishments in biomedical engineering science and practice.

Diversity Lecture Award - The BMES Diversity Award honors an individual, project, organization, or institution for impactful contributions towards improving gender and racial diversity in biomedical engineering. The award seeks to recognize lifetime achievements and high-impact activities (i.e., research, academia, and service) that are innovative and improve equity among biomedical engineering academia and industry.

BMES Mid-Career Award - The BMES Mid-Career Award recognizes a member in good standing who has demonstrated significant leadership and achievements in biomedical engineering. These achievements may be in scholarship, education, mentorship, leadership, or the practice of biomedical engineering.  

Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award - Each year, BMES offers the Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award to stimulate research careers in biomedical engineering. 

Career Development Awards - are available to graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, early-career faculty, and early career professionals from underrepresented populations in biomedical engineering or involved in research and training focused on health disparities and minority health in biomedical engineering.

Christopher Jacobs Award for Excellence in Leadership - honors leadership excellence in the field of Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering (CMBE) and is named in memory and honor of Christopher R. Jacobs, Ph.D.

Shu Chien Achievement Award - is bestowed upon an individual who has demonstrated meritorious contributions to the field of cellular and molecular bioengineering.

Athanasiou Student and Post-Doc Awards - recognizes the authors of the top graduate and post-doctoral papers published in ABME as the future leaders in biomedical engineering and honors the contributions of Dr. Kyriacos Athanasiou to the field.


Learn more about Student Awards / Student Chapter Awards.

 
Want to nominate a colleague for the BMES Grade of Fellow? Learn more at www.bmes.org/fellows.

COMMITTEE ROSTERS
 
2021 AWARDS COMMITTEE ROSTER
First Name Last Name University Email
Joyce Wong Boston University jywong@bu.edu
Norma Alcantar University of South Florida alcantar@eng.usf.edu
Evangelia Bellas Temple University evangelia.bellas@temple.edu
Ashutosh Chilkoti Duke University chilkoti@duke.edu
Elizabeth Cosgriff-Hernandez The University of Texas at Austin cosgriff.hernandez@utexas.edu
Tejal Desai University of California, San Francisco tejal.desai@ucsf.edu
Lola Eniola-Adefeso University of Michigan lolaa@umich.edu
Michele Grimm Michigan State University mgrimm@msu.edu
Abigail Koppes Northeastern University a.koppes@neu.edu
Erin Lavik University of Maryland elavik@umbc.edu
Raphael Lee University of Chicago rlee@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu
Kara McCloskey University of California, Merced kmccloskey@ucmerced.edu
Jennifer Munson Virginia Tech jm4kt@vt.edu
David Odde University of Minnesota oddex002@umn.edu
Eduardo Silva University of California, Davis easilva@gmail.com
Scott Simon University of California, Davis sisimon@ucdavis.edu
Marjolein van der Meulen Cornell University mcv3@cornell.edu
Horst von Recum Case Western Reserve University horst.vonrecum@case.edu
Rebecca Willits Northeastern University willitsr@gmail.com
Kaiming Ye Binghamton University kye@binghamton.edu
Siyang Zheng Carnegie Mellon University siyangz@andrew.cmu.edu
 
2021 FELLOWS COMMITTEE ROSTER
First Name Last Name University Email
Jane Grande-Allen Rice University grande@rice.edu
Guillermo Ameer Northwestern University g-ameer@northwestern.edu
Paul Benkeser Georgia Institute of Technology and Emory University pbenkeser@gatech.edu
Kris Billiar Worcester Polytechnic Institute kbilliar@wpi.edu
Rena Bizios University of Texas at San Antonio rena.bizios@utsa.edu
Michael Detamore University of Oklahoma detamore@ou.edu
Michele Grimm Michigan State University mgrimm@msu.edu
Melissa Knothe Tate Blue Mountains World Interdisciplinary Innovation Institute knothetate@gmail.com
Sanjay Kumar University of California, Berkeley skumar@berkeley.edu
Martine LaBerge Clemson University laberge@clemson.edu
Erin Lavik University of Maryland Baltimore County elavik@umbc.edu
Angelique Louie University of California, Davis aylouie@ucdavis.edu
Kytai Nguyen University of Texas at Arlington knguyen@uta.edu
Ruth Ochia Temple University ruth.ochia@temple.edu
Michael Sacks University of Texas at Austin msacks@ices.utexas.edu
Ann Saterbak Duke University ann.saterbak@duke.edu
Christine Schmidt University of Florida schmidt@bme.ufl.edu
Bruce Wheeler University of Florida/UCSD bwheeler@ufl.edu