2022 Herbert Voigt Distinguished Service Award Winner


Kyriacos Athanasiou, PhD

The Herbert Voigt Distinguished Service Award recognizes members who have made extraordinary contributions to the Biomedical Engineering Society. The award is given out periodically and at the discretion of the current President of BMES. This year, Dr. John White has selected Dr. Kyriacos Athanasiou as the 2022 recipient.

Dr. Athanasiou has been an extensive contributor to BMES as a volunteer. He has served as BMES President, the Editor-in-Chief of the flagship BMES journal ABME, and established the Athanasiou Award for student and postdoc authors of ABME papers. Under his presidency, BMES assumed accreditation responsibilities by becoming a member of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET). He was also a member of the 2005 inaugural class of BMES Fellows.

Congratulations, Dr. Athanasiou, and thank you for your continued support of the Biomedical Engineering Society!