CMBE Momentum Award

Award Description

The CMBE (Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering) Momentum Award recognizes a BMES (Biomedical Engineering Society)-CMBE SIG member who is at the mid-career stage and has made a substantial impact on their field that is related to cellular and molecular bioengineering.

The recipient will be honored at the 2025 BMES CMBE Conference.

Thank you to our sponsor for making this award possible

Award Application Requirements

Eligible candidates must be a BMES CMBE SIG member for at least 1 year and are typically within 20 years of their PhD degree. An academic nominee will hold associate professor status (at minimum), reflecting peer recognition in their established, independent research career. A non-academic nominee will hold the industry equivalent level of status, consistent with substantial contributions in practice, mentorship, service, and/or leadership in industry.

 The award recipient must be available to attend the annual CMBE meeting. Submissions should include:

  1. A nomination letter, less than 2 pages, that describes the nominee’s contributions in the following 3 categories:
    1. Outstanding original research & development in the field of Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering
    2. Achievements in education or industrial practice, service, mentorship, and leadership
    3. Demonstrated activity that has advanced diversity, equity, and inclusion
  2. The nominee’s full CV (less than 5 pages, noting the nominee’s doctoral degree date)
  3. Two letters of support that specifically address the categories described in item No. 1. Note: Letters should not be from the nominator.


Award Rubric

To view the award rubric, please click here.


The recipient of this prestigious award will receive a commemorative plaque and a free registration to the CMBE Annual conference, where the recipient will also be invited to deliver a lecture.

An honorarium is contingent upon the development of this award.

The recipient will be honored at the 2025 BMES CMBE Conference.

For questions, please contact

APPLICATION DEADLINE: July 15, 2024 at 11:59PM ET


CMBE Momentum Award Recipients

2024 –Dr. Rong Fan, Yale University 

2023 – Dr. Claudia Fischbach, Cornell University