Shu Chien Achievement Award


The BMES CMBE Shu Chien Achievement Award is a dedicated BMES Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering (CMBE) Special Interest Group (SIG) award.  

Award Description

The BMES CMBE Shu Chien Achievement Award is the most prestigious honor bestowed by the BMES Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering (CMBE) Special Interest Group (SIG). This award recognizes an individual who has made exceptional contributions to the field of cellular and molecular bioengineering. These contributions include groundbreaking scientific advances, the development of programs to support this emerging field, the mentoring and training of the next generation of scientists, and the advancement of diversity and inclusivity.

Professor Shu Chien, MD, Ph.D., past President of the BMES, AIMBE, APS, and FASEB, is internationally recognized as one of the foremost pioneers and educators in biomedical engineering. His vision and leadership in integrating biomedical engineering with cardiovascular physiology and molecular cell biology have greatly impacted the field of cellular and molecular bioengineering.

Professor Chien's research has substantially expanded our understanding of how blood flow regulates interactions between the bloodstream, blood cells, and the arterial wall. Also, his work significantly contributed to the understanding of mechanobiology of stem and cancer cells. Through the course of his illustrious career, he has discovered how mechanical forces regulate gene expression to control cell growth, migration, and death.

Professor Chien is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Sciences, and American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He received the US National Medal of Science in 2011. In addition to his outstanding scholarly work, Professor Chien has nurtured and trained numerous fellows and students from diverse backgrounds, many of whom have become leaders in various academic and industrial fields. As such, Professor Chien is a role model who is beloved and admired by generations of scientists. In honor of his many achievements in the field, this annual achievement award is dedicated to recognizing and honoring an individual who has made great contributions to Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering.

The recipient will be honored at the 2025 BMES CMBE Conference.

Award Application Requirements

Awards recipient must be a BMES member in good standing. Submissions should include the following:

1. A nomination letter, no more than 2 pages, that describes the nominee's contributions in the following 4 categories:
      a. Pioneering accomplishments in basic and/or translational research in cellular and molecular bioengineering
      b. Key leadership/role that has impacted the cellular and molecular bioengineering field (e.g., research center or
           consortia, educational programs, leadership in professional societies, etc).
      c. Excellence in mentoring of students/trainees
      d. Demonstrated activity that has advanced diversity, equity, and inclusion.
2. The nominee's full CV
3. Three letters of support that specifically address the categories described in item #1

Award Rubric

To view the award rubric, please click here.

Award and Honorarium

The recipient will receive a commemorative plaque, complimentary registration for the meeting, an honorarium of $1,000, and will be invited to deliver a lecture at the CMBE Annual Conference.

For questions, please contact

APPLICATION DEADLINE: July 15, 2024 at 11:59PM ET


BMES CMBE Shu Chien Scientific Achievement Award Recipients

2024 – Dr. Nicholas Peppas, University of Texas at Austin 

2023 – Dr. Cato T. Laurencin, University of Connecticut

2022 – Valerie Weaver, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco

2021 – Dennis Discher, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

2020 – Roger D. Kamm, Ph.D., MIT

2019 – Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic, Ph.D., Columbia University

2018 – Michael L. Shuler, Ph.D., Cornell University

2017 – Antonios G. Mikos, Ph.D., Rice University

2016 – Donald E. Ingber, M.D., Ph.D., Harvard University

2015 – Douglas A. Lauffenburger, Ph.D., MIT

Make your tax-deductible donation today!