Athanasiou Student and Post-Doc Award

The Kyriacos and Kiley Athanasiou Endowment was established in 2017 within the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) to promote biomedical engineering scholarship and honor the contributions of Dr. Kyriacos Athanasiou to the field. Dr. Athanasiou has had a broad impact on the field of biomedical engineering, particularly within the areas of musculoskeletal tissue engineering and translation of new technologies to clinical use. He also served as the editor-in-chief of the Annals of Biomedical Engineering (ABME) from 2009 to 2017. One goal of the endowment is to recognize excellence in future leaders of biomedical engineering by awarding the top papers published in ABME written by graduate students and post-doctoral scholars. The inaugural Athanasiou ABME Student Award Session was held at the 2018 BMES Annual Meeting.

Athanasiou Student and Post-Doc Award Recipients
2021 Yuzhe Liu, Stanford University, “Validation and Comparison of Instrumented Mouthguards for Measuring Head Kinematics and Assessing Brain Deformation in Football Impacts” ‚Äč
2021 Luca Modenese, Imperial College London, “Automated Generation of Three-Dimensional Complex Muscle Geometries for Use in Personalised Musculoskeletal Models”
2021 Katya D’Costa, University of Toronto, “Biomaterials and Culture Systems for Development of Organoid and Organ-on-a-Chip Models”
2021 Yilei Ding, Southwest Jiaotong University, “An Injectable Nanocomposite Hydrogel for Potential Application of Vascularization and Tissue Repair”
2021 Paolo Zaffino, Universitá della Magna Graecia, “A Review on Advances in Intra-operative Imaging for Surgery and Therapy: Imagining the Operating Room of the Future”
2021 Emily Kieffer, Virginia Tech, “A Two-Phased Approach to Quantifying Head Impact Sensor Accuracy: In-Laboratory and On-Field Assessments”
2020   Edward Donnely, University College London, “Breast Reconstruction with a Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine Approach (Systematic Review)”
2020   Taylor Harris, Stanford University, “The Shrinking Brain: Cerebral Atrophy Following Traumatic Brain Injury”
2020 Megan Bland, Virginia Tech, “Development of the STAR Evaluation System for Assessing Bicycle Helmet Protective Performance”
2020 Eunjin Choi, Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, “A High-Fidelity Phantom for the Simulation and Quantitative Evaluation of Transurethral Resection of the Prostate”
2020 Eamon Campolettano, Virginia Tech, “Development of a Concussion Risk Function for a Youth Population Using Head Linear and Rotational Acceleration” 
2020 William Decker, Wake Forest University, “Development and Multi-Scale Validation of a Finite Element Football Helmet Model”
2019 Navid Manuchehrabadi, University of Minnesota, and Meng Shi, Xi’an Jiaotong University, “Ultrarapid Inductive Rewarming of Vitrified Biomaterials with Thin Metal Forms”
2019 Maria Kalli, University of Cyprus, “Solid Stress Facilitates Fibroblasts Activation to Promote Pancreatic Cancer Cell Migration”
2019 Adam J. Dixon, University of Virginia, “In Vitro Sonothrombolysis Enhancement by Transiently Stable Microbubbles Produced by a Flow-Focusing Microfluidic Device"
2019 Chih-Kang Chang and Edward P. Washabaugh, University of Michigan, “A Semi-passive Planar Manipulandum for Upper-Extremity Rehabilitation”
2019 Zhuoqi Cheng, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, “A New Venous Entry Detection Method Based on Electrical Bio-impedance Sensing”
2019 Lee F. Gabler, University of Virginia, “Development of a Metric for Predicting Brain Strain Responses Using Head Kinematics”
2018 Eamon T. Campolettano, Virginia Tech, “Ranges of Injury Risk Associated with Impact from Unmanned Aircraft Systems”
2018 Harsimrat Singh, Imperial College London, “Robotic Surgery Improves Technical Performance and Enhances Prefrontal Activation During High Temporal Demand”
2018 Markus Horvath, MIT, "Towards alternative approaches for coupling of a soft robotic sleeve to the heart”
2018 Tim Horeman, Delft University of Technology, "In-vitro detection of small isolated Cartilage Defects: Intra-Vascular Ultrasound vs. Optical Coherence Tomography”
2018 Wing Yu Chan, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, "Mechanical and Clinical Evaluation of a Shape Memory Alloy and Conventional Struts in a Flexible Scoliotic Brace”
2018 He Liu, Imperial College London, "Augmented Reality Based Navigation for Computer-Assisted Hip Resurfacing: A Proof of Concept Study”
Selection Criteria

Athanasiou ABME student award recipients are selected in April each year. All papers with graduate student or post-doctoral scholar first authors that were published online in ABME in the preceding year (between April of the previous year and March of the award year) are considered for an award. In 2020, 167 papers met that criteria, so the awardees represented the top 4% of those papers. The total number and rate of citations and downloads, along with the impact and quality of each paper is considered. Each deputy editor-in-chief selects four finalists, from which the editor-in-chief selects the award recipients. More information on submission guidelines for those interested in consideration for an award, and recent publications in ABME can be found here:

Award and Honorarium

Each awardee is invited to present their paper during the Athanasiou ABME Award Session, which is held during the BMES Annual Meeting. Awardees will receive a $500 honorarium, free BMES Annual Meeting registration, and a certificate onsite.