2020 Shu Chien Achievement Awardee

Roger Kamm, PhD

Cecil and Ida Green Distinguished Professor
Biological and Mechanical Engineering
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Roger D. Kamm is currently the Cecil and Ida Green Distinguished Professor of Biological and Mechanical Engineering at MIT, where he has served on the faculty since 1978. Kamm has long been instrumental in growing research activities at the interface of biology and mechanics, in molecular mechanics, and now in engineered living systems.  His research has included both computational and experimental aspects.  In computation, he has used a variety of methods including traditional FEM approaches for arterial blood flow and airway wall buckling, molecular dynamics for protein conformational change and peptide self-assembly, agent-based models for angiogenesis, and Brownian dynamics simulations of cytoskeletal rheology.  His experimental work has focused on a variety of topics in arterial, respiratory and ophthalmic diseases.  Most recently his work has focused on metastatic cancer and neurological diseases, for which his lab has produced a variety of microphysiological models to simulate disease progression and for drug screening. 

In education, he was a co-recipient of the Class of 1960 Award in 1999 and received the Everett Moore Baker Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. Student mentoring has been a high priority, and 40 of Kamm’s former students are now in faculty positions around the world. Kamm has fostered biomechanics as Chair of the US National Committee on Biomechanics (2006-2009) and of the World Council on Biomechanics (2006-2010).  He co-initiated a series of meetings on Frontiers of Biomechanics, chaired the ASME Summer Bioengineering Conference (2001), and organized a Summit of Experts on Biomechanics (2007) and a Workshop on Engineered Living Systems (2016).  In 2014, Kamm co- chaired the World Congress of Biomechanics. He is the 2010 recipient of the ASME Lissner Medal, the 2015 recipient of the Huiskes Medal, both for life-long contributions, the 2018 recipient of the Nerem Medal for education and mentorship, and is a member of the National Academy of Medicine.
For more information about Dr. Kamm, click here.