2019 Frontiers in Medical Devices

The Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) and the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) have partnered to co-sponsor the BMES/FDA Frontiers in Medical Devices Conference: The Role of Digital Evidence to Support Personalized Patient Healthcare. This conference will provide a forum for participants involved in the development and evaluation of medical devices to meet and share their expertise, establish collaborations, and discuss strategies to effectively utilize computational modeling to support patient care and improve final outcomes. The conference will take place March 19-21, 2019, at the College Park Marriott Hotel and Conference Center at the University of Maryland, Washington, DC Metropolitan Area.

Technical tracks will focus on topics related to the increased role of simulation as evidence for healthcare and will be chaired by a panel of researchers and modelers from industry, government, and academia. Top student submissions across tracks will be highlighted in a student paper competition.

Abstracts are now being solicited that highlight the latest developments in and best practices in computational modeling and simulation of medical devices. For more information about the submission process click here.
December 12, 2018 Early Registration Opens
January 29, 2019 Early Registration Closes
January 30, 2019 Advance Registration Opens
February 28, 2019 Hotel Reservation Cutoff
(Or when hotel block fills up, whichever comes first)
March 6, 2019 Advance Registration Closes
March 19, 2019 Onsite Registration Opens



Alison Marsden
Associate Professor
Stanford University

Riccardo Sabatini
Chief Data Scientist
Orionis Biosciences

Rusty Irving
Digital Twin GM & Chief Engineer
GE Global Research


Leonardo Angelone, U.S. FDA
U.S. FDA Chair

Adam Himes, Medtronic
Industry Chair

Andrew Drach, Univ. of Texas
at Austin
Academia Chair

Tina Morrison, U.S. FDA
U.S. FDA Chair-elect

Christopher Basciano, BD
Industry Chair-elect

Laleh Golestanirad,
Northwestern Univ.
Academia Chair-elect

Siva Balasubramanian, BD

Cheryl Liu, Stryker

Thank you to our sponsors and exhibitors


ANSYS: www.ansys.com
Dassault Systemes SIMULIA: www.3ds.com/products-services/simulia
ZMT Zurich Med Tech: www.zmt.swiss
Boston Scientific: www.bostonscientific.com
Medtronic: www.medtronic.com



InSilico Trials: www.insilicotrials.com
Mathworks: www.mathworks.com
Synopsys: www.synopsys.com/simpleware.html
TotalCAE: www.totalcae.com
Veryst: www.veryst.com
SmartUQ: www.smartuq.com
BD: www.bd.com