2019 Frontiers in Medical Devices


The Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) and the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) have partnered to co-sponsor the BMES/FDA Frontiers in Medical Devices Conference: The Role of Digital Evidence to Support Personalized Patient Healthcare. This conference will provide a forum for participants involved in the development and evaluation of medical devices to meet and share their expertise, establish collaborations, and discuss strategies to effectively utilize computational modeling to support patient care and improve final outcomes. The conference will take place March 19-21, 2019, at the College Park Marriott Hotel and Conference Center at the University of Maryland, Washington, DC Metropolitan Area.

Technical tracks will focus on topics related to the increased role of simulation as evidence for healthcare and will be chaired by a panel of researchers and modelers from industry, government, and academia. Top student submissions across tracks will be highlighted in a student paper competition.

Abstracts are now being solicited that highlight the latest developments in and best practices in computational modeling and simulation of medical devices. For more information about the submission process click here.
 
Technical Tracks  Track Chair
Clinically relevant models Laleh Golestani Rad (Northwestern University)
Steve Levine (Dassault Systèmes)
Real world data as model input Ethan Kung (Clemson University)
Tina Zhao (Edwards Lifesciences)
Assessing credibility of models Payman Afshari (DePuy Synthes J&J)
Brent Craven (FDA)
Digital twins in healthcare Marc Horner (ANSYS, Inc)
Drew Pruett (University of Mississippi Medical Center)
Artificial intelligence and machine learning in medical devices Dave Hoadley (MathWorks)
Aria Pezeshk (FDA)

Click here for a list of track descriptions

Organizing Committee:
Leonardo Angelone, U.S. FDA Chair (leonardo.angelone@fda.hhs.gov)
Adam Himes, Medtronic, Industry Chair (adam.k.himes@medtronic.com)
Andrew Drach, Univ. Texas, Academia Chair (andrew.drach@utexas.edu)
Tina Morrison, U.S. FDA Chair-elect (tina.morrison@fda.hhs.gov)
Christopher Basciano, BD, Industry Chair-elect (christopher_basciano@bd.com)
Laleh Golestanirad, Northwestern Univ, Academia Chair-elect (laleh.rad1@northwestern.edu)
Siva Balasubramanian, BD, (siva_balasubramanian@bd.com)
Cheryl Liu, Stryker, (cheryl.liu@stryker.com)