Board of Directors

PRESIDENT
John White, PhD
Term 2020-2022
Professor and Chair
Boston University
jwhite@bu.edu

INCOMING PRESIDENT
Cynthia Reinhart-King, PhD
Term: 2021-2025
Professor
Vanderbilt University
cynthia.reinhart-king@vanderbilt.edu

SECRETARY
Jane Grande-Allen, PhD
Term: 2020 - 2022
Professor and Chair
Rice University
grande@rice.edu​

TREASURER
Debra Auguste, PhD
Term: 2021-2023
Professor
Northeastern University
d.auguste@northeastern.edu

PUBLICATIONS BOARD CHAIR 
Naomi Chesler, PhD
Term:  2020 - 2022
Professor
University of Wisconsin
nchesler@uci.edu

FINANCE COMMITTEE CHAIR
Donald P. Gaver, PhD
Term:  2018 - 2021
Professor
Tulane University
dpg@tulane.edu

COUNCIL OF CHAIRS – CHAIR
Vicki Colvin, PhD
Term: 2022 - 2023
Vernon K. Krieble Professor of Chemistry and Engineering, Director of the Center for Biomedical Engineering
Brown University
Vicki_Colvin@brown.edu

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR/CEO
Charity Quick, MBA, CAE
charity@bmes.org


2018 - 2021 DIRECTORS:

Treena Arinzeh, PhD
Professor
New Jersey Institute of Technology
arinzeh@njit.edu

Debra Auguste, PhD
Professor
Northeastern University
debraauguste@gmail.com

Princess Imoukhuede, PhD
Professor
Washington University in St. Louis
imoukhuede@wustl.edu

Alisa Morss Clyne, PhD
Associate Professor
Drexel University
aclyne@umd.edu


2019 - 2022 DIRECTORS:

Lola Eniola-Adefeso, PhD
Professor
University of Michigan
lolaa@umich.edu

Nicole Hurley, PhD
Group Leader
Medtronic
Nicole.Hurley@medtronic.com

Roland Kaunas, PhD
Associate Professor
Texas A&M University
rkaunas@tamu.edu

Christine Scotti, PhD
Product Specialist
W.L. Gore & Associates
cscotti@wlgore.com
 

2020 - 2023 DIRECTORS:​

Jenny Amos, PhD
Professor
The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
jamos@illinois.edu

Stephanie Kladakis, PhD
Chief Scientist
Carmell Therapeutics
skladakis@carmellrx.com

Ross Ethier, PhD
Professor
Georgia Tech
ross.ethier@bme.gatech.edu

Kent Leach, PhD
Professor
The University of California, Davis
jkleach@ucdavis.edu


2021 - 2024 DIRECTORS:​

David Jamison, PhD
Technical Writer
Kelly Science & Clinical
DJamiso3@ITS.JNJ.com


Sanjay Kumar, MD, PhD
Professor and Chair
University of California, Berkeley
skumar@berkeley.edu

Ruth Ochia, PhD
Professor
Temple University
ruth.ochia@temple.edu

Manu Platt, PhD
Professor and Chair
Georgia Tech and Emory University
manu.platt@gatech.edu

PUBLICATIONS:

Annals of Biomedical Engineering (ABME)                                    
EDITOR IN CHIEF: Stefan M. Duma, PhD,
Virginia Tech
sduma@vt.edu
                                    
Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering (CMBE)                 
EDITOR IN CHIEF: Michael R. King, PhD
Vanderbilt University
mike.king@vanderbilt.edu

Cardiovascular Engineering and Technology (CVET)
EDITOR IN CHIEF: Igor Efimov, PhD
Georgia Washington University
efimov@email.gwu.edu

Educational Journal
EDITOR IN CHIEF: Ann Saterback
Duke University
ann.saterbak@duke.edu