Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award

The Pritzker Distinguished Lectureship Award is the Society's premier award. This prestigious award is given each year to recognize an individual's outstanding achievements and leadership in the science and practice of biomedical engineering. The award recipient is expected to deliver a plenary lecture at the Annual Meeting in the fall and publish the text of the lecture in the Annals of Biomedical Engineering. A very important purpose of the lecture is to critically review a field of biomedical engineering and offer a vision of its future. 

BMES Pritzker Award Recipients

2020 - P. Hunter Peckham, Ph.D. - Case Western Reserve University
2019 - Christopher Chen, MD, Ph.D. - Boston University
2018 - Rashid Bashir, Ph.D. - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2017 - Gordana Vunjak, Novakovic, Ph.D. - Columbia University

2016 - Nicholas Peppas, ScD - University of Texas at Austin
2015 - Martin Yarmush, MD, Ph.D. - Rutgers University
2014 - James J. Collins, Ph.D. - Boston University
2013 - Ashutosh Chilkoti, Ph.D. - Duke University
2012 - Ajit P. Yoganathan, Ph.D. – Georgia Institute of Technology
2011 - Michael Shuler - Cornell University
2010 - Rebecca Richards-Khortum - Rice University
2009 - Don Ingber - Harvard University
2008 - Buddy Ratner - University of Washington
2007 - Antonios Mikos - Rice University

Prior to the Pritzker Award, the BMES Distinguished Lecture Award, sponsored by the Whitaker Foundation, was founded in 1991 to recognize outstanding achievement in biomedical engineering.‚Äč

BMES Distinguished Lecture Award Recipients

2006 - Daniel Hammer - University of Pennsylvania
2005 - Peter G. Katona - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2004 - W. Mark Saktzman - Iowa State University
2003 - Douglas A. Lauffenburger - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2002 - Gerald Pollak - University of Washington
2001 - Yoram Rudy - Case Western Reserve University
2000 - Murray B. Sachs - John Hopkins University
1999 - John H. Linehan - Whitaker Foundation
1998 - Jen-Shih Lee - University of Virginia
1997 - Sheldon Weinbaum - The City College of New York
1996 - Marcos Intaglietta - University of California
1995 - Rakesh K. Jain - Harvard Medical School
1994 - Robert S. Langer - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1993 - J. David Hellums - Rice University
1992 - Pierre Galletti - Brown University
1991 - Thomas Harris - Vanderbilt University

Application Requirements

  1. The award recipient may have achieved excellence in biomedical engineering by contributions within the setting of the university, industry, or government.
  2. The awardee's contributions are not required to precede the award date by any specific period of time.
  3. Applicants must be a member of BMES in good standing.
Please complete the application form along with a letter describing the nominee's service to biomedical engineering, the nominee's Curriculum Vitae, and letter(s) of support (not to exceed 5 letters).

Award and Honorarium
This recipient receives complimentary registration for the Annual Meeting, a crystal plaque, and an honorarium of $12,000.

**The Awards Committee will screen all nominations, critically evaluate the nominee's records, and submit its recommendation to the BMES Executive Committee for approval. 

Award nomination submissions will reopen in March 2021.

For questions, please contact