2021 Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering Awards Symposium

The Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering (CMBE) Special Interest Group (SIG) of the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) presents the 2021 CMBE Awards Symposium. This event recognizes prominent senior leaders who have helped define the field through excellence in research, service, and leadership, as well as promising junior principal investigators who are expanding the field in new and exciting directions.
When: January 22, 2021 at 12:00 PM EST - 4:00 PM EST
Columbia BME has graciously agreed to host this exciting virtual event. Please register by Jan 20, 2021, to ensure your access. 

Schedule (All times are in ET)
  Time   Description
  12:00 PM - 12:05 PM   Welcome by Brenton Hoffman
  12:05 PM - 12:55 PM   Rising Star Awards - Session 1
  12:55 PM - 1:05 PM   Live Roundtable Q&A for Rising Stars - Session 1
  1:05 PM - 1:10 PM   Break
  1:10 PM - 2:00 PM   Rising Star Awards - Session 2
  2:00 PM - 2:10 PM   Live Roundtable Q&A for Rising Stars - Session 2
  2:10 PM - 2:15 PM   Break
  2:15 PM - 2:20 PM   Introduction by Peter Yingxiao Wang
  2:20 PM - 2:50 PM   2021 Christopher Jacobs Award for Excellence in Leadership: George Truskey, Duke University
  2:50 PM - 2:55 PM   Introduction by Shu Chien
  2:55 PM - 3:35 PM   2021 Shu Chien Achievement Award: Dennis Discher, University of Pennsylvania

2021 Shu Chien Achievement Award
The Shu Chien Achievement Award is bestowed upon an individual who has demonstrated meritorious contributions to the field of cellular and molecular bioengineering. These contributions include groundbreaking scientific advances in the field of cell and molecular bioengineering, the development of programs to support this emerging field, and the mentoring and training of the next generation of scientists working in our field.
2021 Shu Chien Achievement Award Recipient:
Dennis Discher, University of Pennsylvania

Prof. Discher is recognized for several seminal contributions to CMBE, including elevating mechanobiology to the mainstream of modern bioengineering and cell biology through the elucidation of mechanical aspects of stem cell biology and the description of the mechanosensitive nature of the nucleus.

2021 Christopher Jacobs Award for Excellence in Leadership
This award is named in memory and honor of Christopher R. Jacobs, Ph.D., and shall be presented in recognition of leadership excellence in the Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering community. Leadership is broadly defined and includes leadership in education, service, and publication/dissemination of the CMBE field.
2021 Christopher Jacobs Award for Excellence in Leadership Recipient:
George Truskey, Duke University
Prof. Truskey is recognized for his tremendous contributions in the formation and maturation of the CMBE field through key leadership roles in BMES, AIMBE, and the NIH. Most notably, he provided key leadership, insight, and vision as the President of BMES during the creation of the CMBE SIG.

BMES CMBE Rising Star Awards
The Rising Star Awards recognize a select group of exceptional junior principal investigators that have demonstrated research excellence.
2021 Rising Star Award Recipients:

Brendon Baker
University of Michigan

Sidi Bencherif
Northeastern University

Weiqiang Chen
New York University

Cesar de la Fuente
University of Pennsylvania

Neha Kamat
Northwestern University

Ester Kwon
University of California,
San Diego

Zhen Ma
Syracuse University

Scott Medina
Pennsylvania State University

Jeffrey Millman
Washington University in St. Louis

Michael Murrell
Yale University