Elliott elected president of BMES

Dawn Elliott – Department Chair of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Delaware – was elected president of the Biomedical Engineering Society this month. Ben Noe, an engineer at Medtronic, was selected to be the Society's new treasurer. 
Elliott and Noe are joined by five new members of BMES's board of directors:
  • Rebecca Willits, University of Akron
  • Angelica Gonzalez, Yale University                  
  • Craig Simmons, University of Toronto   
  • Hanjoong Jo, Emory University and Georgia Tech
  • Denise Forkey, Medical Device Development Solutions
Denise Forkey, Medical Device Development Solutions, will take over the director position vacated by Ben Noe until October 2018.  

Elliott will begin her role as president at the Society's 2018 Annual Meeting in Atlanta.

Noe and the board members will start their new roles at the Society's 2017 Annual Meeting in Phoenix, October 11-14.

BMES is the largest professional society for Biomedical Engineering and Bioengineering, representing more than 7,000 members. The BMES Annual Meeting is the premiere conference for education and research in the field.