2019 BMES award winners demonstrate the best in biomedical engineering

Annually, the Biomedical Engineering Society recognizes individuals for their accomplishments, significant contributions and service to the Society and the field of biomedical engineering. The Society is proud to announce its 2019 award recipients.
The award recipients will be recognized and deliver a plenary lecture during the BMES Annual Meeting held October 16-19, in Philadelphia.

Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award
Christopher Chen, MD, PhD - The Biological Design Center and Department of Biomedical Engineering at Boston University, The Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering at Harvard University

The Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award is the premier award of the Society given to an individual to recognize outstanding achievements and leadership in the science and practice of biomedical engineering.

BMES Mid-Career Award
Celeste Nelson, PhD, Princeton University

The BMES Mid-Career Award is a new award established to recognize a BMES member for their meritorious achievements in scholarship, education, mentorship, or practice of biomedical engineering and their energetic leadership in biomedical engineering.

Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award
James Dahlman, PhD, Georgia Institute of Technology

The Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award is offered to stimulate research careers in biomedical engineering and is given to a young investigator whose originality and ingenuity is demonstrated in a body of published work.

Diversity Lecture Award
Steven D. Abramowitch, PhD, Swanson School of Engineering. University of Pittsburgh

The Diversity Lecture Award honors an individual, project, organization, or institution for outstanding contributions to improving gender and racial diversity in biomedical engineering.
Wallace H. Coulter Award for Healthcare Innovation
Bruce Levine, PhD, Abramson Cancer Center, University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine

The Wallace H. Coulter Award for Healthcare Innovation recognizes an outstanding individual who has demonstrated a lifetime commitment to and made important contributions to patient healthcare.

Rebecca Richards-Kortum PhD, Rice University

NIBIB-NIH has supported an annual lecture at the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) conference for more than a decade that recognizes outstanding research in the field.