U of Delaware's Dawn Elliott wins award for mentorship and research

BMES President Dawn Elliott, chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Delaware, is the inaugural recipient of the Orthopaedic Research Society's Adele L. Boskey, PhD Award.
This new award was established in memory of the late Dr. Boskey, a past president of the Orthopaedic Research Society who was committed to mentorship and made important contributions to the fundamental understanding of biomineralization and bone disorders.

The Adele L. Boskey, PhD Award recognizes a mid-career member of the Orthopaedic Research Society for outstanding and sustained commitment to mentorship and a demonstrated track record of an upward trajectory and impactful research program.

“Dr. Elliott exemplifies the traits Adele inspired us to achieve, including integrity, being a strong role model for mentees, and inclusiveness in research, and she is clearly very deserving of this honor,” said Nancy Pleshko, professor of bioengineering at Temple University.

“Dr. Elliott has been an exemplary mentor to her students, and has been committed through outreach and education to inspire women to join and be successful in both engineering and orthopaedics,” Pleshko said. “Through her leadership, including as Department Chair at University of Delaware, and as current president of the Biomedical Engineering Society, she has gone above and beyond expectations to create educational opportunities and a diverse intellectual community.”

Read more HERE.