BMES members among new class of AAAS Fellows

Three BMES members are among the new class of fellows elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science organization.
Guillermo A. Ameer, Northwestern University; Karen J.L. Burg, University of Georgia; and Aydogan Ozcan, University of Califormnia, Los Angeles were named as part of the 2018 class, according to AAAS.

The organization named 416 of its members the lifetime honor of being an elected Fellow in recognition of their extraordinary achievements in advancing science.

The Fellows will be recognized at the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. During a Fellows Forum on Feb. 16, they will be presented with an official certificate and the AAAS Fellows' gold and blue rosette pin, the colors of which represent the fields of science and engineering respectively.

This year's Fellows, who represent a broad swath of scientific disciplines, were selected for diverse accomplishments that include pioneering research, leadership within their field, teaching and mentoring, fostering collaborations and advancing public understanding of science.

If you are a BMES member who was elected to this year's class, please let us know so we can include you in our list .