Annually, the Biomedical Engineering Society recognizes individuals for their accomplishments, significant contributions and service to the Society and the field of biomedical engineering. The Society is proud to announce its 2019 award recipients.
The 2019 award recipients will be recognized and deliver a plenary lecture during the BMES Annual Meeting next year in Philadelphia.
2019 Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award 
Christopher Chen, PhD – Boston University
The Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award is the premier award of the Society given to an individual to recognize outstanding achievements and leadership in the science and practice of biomedical engineering. Dr. Chen is recognized for his seminal contributions to biomedical engineering. He is Professor, a founding director of Biological Design Center, Deputy Director and Co-PI of NSF STC for Engineering Mechanobiology, and Deputy Director, NSF ERC for Cellular Metamaterials, Boston University. He is one of the leading scientists in the field of mechanoiology. His paper in elucidating the key role for cell shape in control of cell fate switching has 4,707 citations. He has made significant contributions to stem cell field. His research in human mesenchymal stem cells revealed the role of RhoA as the critical signaling pathway regulating mechanical force responsive stem cell differentiation. He helped develop a cell patterning platform for characterizing mechanical stress induced cell morphogenesis. His Google Scholar h-index of 92 with nearly 40,000 citations.

2019 Diversity Lecture Award
Steven D. Abramowitch, PhD – Department of Bioengineering, University of Pittsburgh
The Diversity Lecture Award honors an individual, project, organization, or institution for outstanding contributions to improving gender and racial diversity in biomedical engineering. Dr. Abramowitch has an impressive list of accomplishments and commitment to improving diversity in BME. He is the CoPI on 2 funded NSF programs (PITTS STRIVE and GEPS) which focus on increasing representation of minorities in graduate programs.