BMES 2018 Award Recipients Announced

Annually, the Biomedical Engineering Society recognizes individuals for their accomplishments, significant contributions and service to the Society and the field of biomedical engineering. The Society is proud to announce its 2018 award recipients.

The award recipients will be recognized and deliver a plenary lecture during the BMES Annual Meeting held October 17-20, in Atlanta.
Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award
Rashid Bashir, PhD - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Carle Illinois College of Medicine
The Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award is the premier award of the Society given to an individual to recognize outstanding achievements and leadership in the science and practice of biomedical engineering.

BMES Mid-Career Award
Cynthia Reinhart-King, PhD – Vanderbilt University
The BMES Mid-Career Award is a new award established to recognize a BMES member for their meritorious achievements in scholarship, education, mentorship, or practice of biomedical engineering and their energetic leadership in biomedical engineering. 

Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award
Emily Day, PhD – University of Delaware
The Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award is offered to stimulate research careers in biomedical engineering and is given to a young investigator whose originality and ingenuity is demonstrated in a body of published work.

Diversity Lecture Award
Angelica Gonzalez, PhD – Yale University
The Diversity Lecture Award honors an individual, project, organization, or institution for outstanding contributions to improving gender and racial diversity in biomedical engineering.

Wallace H. Coulter Award for Healthcare Innovation
Josh Makower, MD, MBA – Stanford Byers Center for Biodesign, Stanford University Medical School, and New Enterprise Associates, Inc.
The Wallace H. Coulter Award for Healthcare Innovation recognizes an outstanding individual who has demonstrated a lifetime commitment to and made important contributions to patient healthcare.